Davenport and O’Neill win at El Dora

2022 09 08 Eldora Dirt Lm Dream Hudson O'neal Don O'neal Paul Arch Photo Dsc 5538 (28) a

Don O’Neill (right) congratulates his son, Hudson O’Neill, at Victory Lanes at Eldora Speedway. (Photo by Paul Arch)

ROSSBERG, Ohio – Two drivers took their first step toward conquering “The World” Thursday night at Eldora Speedway.

After 107 cars entered the first night of the 52nd in the World 100, Jonathan Davenport and Hudson O’Neill stood witness and racked up $12,000 in distinctive initial victories and gained valuable momentum toward Saturday’s main event.

One night after finishing fourth on the Dirt Late Model Dream, Jonathan Davenport wasted no time returning to the famous victory lane at Eldora Speedway.

Davenport stormed Jimmy Owens on lap six of the first set Thursday to claim the $12,000 prize on the first night of the 52nd World 100.

The four-time World 100 winner said his team made changes throughout the day, helping his car get back into winning form.

“I think we’re one adjustment away from being perfect,” Davenport said. “We changed a few things today. We couldn’t get a good balance with that.

“I wish the racetrack was like that last night. We might be here again. It’s a great job, done by my buddies, Jason and Vinnie and Tyler. We all get our heads together and constantly change things up on this thing. We changed things on the car, and it messed up that balance a little bit, And I think we got it back there pretty well.”

Owens, a two-time World 100 champion, finished second after driving the first five laps of the race.

“I was just discussing with my guys how we can become more stable in the corners,” Owens said. “I felt like we were good, but 49 has been great all year. Another great year for these guys. Hats off to them.”

“We have some work to do, and maybe we can make some improvements for the big race.”

2022 09 08 Eldora Dirt Lm Dream Jonathan Davenport Jimmy Owens Paul Arch Photo Dsc 5067 (2) aBrandon Overton, the defending 100th World Champion, finished third, while Chris Madden and Johnny Scott took the top five.

Hudson O’Neill scored one goal in his introductory feature at the World Championships 100 – getting fresh air fast.

O’Neal took control of Eldora’s Group B advantage to earn the $12,000 win.

“I got off to a really good start, and I knew I just needed to get the lead and get clean air as fast as I could,” O’Neill said. “the first [Feature] I went devoid of caution, so I thought the second one would do that too.

“Air plays a big factor here. I swear I felt like I slowed for a couple of seconds when I caught winding traffic.”

Clanton crossed the line in second after winning a freestyle earlier in the night.

Our car was good, we had a good starting point, and I hope we can do it again tomorrow,” Clanton said. “This DC race car is very good at the moment. Hopefully we can continue to do so.”

Chris Ferguson rounded out the podium one night after an early exit at Dirt Late Model Dream.

Ferguson switched to a spare car and stated that he was happy with how well the car ran.

“I just want to say a special thank you to my crew for the hard work,” Ferguson said. “The car was really good. I could hang out with Shane and Hudson, but I couldn’t get the momentum as we needed to.

“I’m tickled to death; this is the first time I’ve raced this car here since 2018.”

Tim McCready finished fourth, and Garrett Smith finished the top five.


First advantage (25 laps): 1. 49 – Jonathan Davenport[3]; 2. 20 – Jimmy Owens[2]; 3. 76 Brandon Overton[5]; 4. 44- Chris Madden[4]; 5. 1st- Johnny Scott[1]; 6. 1- Brandon Shepard[8]; 7. 20 RT Ricky Thornton Jr.[6]; 8. 157- Mike Marlar[7]; 9. 11 H-Spencer Hughes[9]; 10. 8 Kyle Strickler[23]; 11. 1T-Tyler Erb[10]; 12. 19R- Ryan Justin[16]; 13. 58- Garrett Alperson[14]; 14. 23 John Blankenship[12]; 15. 22S- Greg Satterley[15]; 16. 88- Trent Ivy[11]; 17. 42H- Tyler Carpenter[19]; 18. 83F- Jensen Ford[17]; 19. 25F – Jason Figger[20]; 20. 5-Mark Bleach[18]; 21. 31K-Key Plate[13]; 22. 21K- Dakota Knuckles[24]; 23. 99- Camaron Marlar[22]; 24. 10- Joseph Joyner[21]

Feature 2 (25 laps): 1. 71-Hudson O’Neill[2]; 2. 25 Shane Clanton[1]; 3. 22 – Chris Ferguson[4]; 4. 39-Tim McCready[3]; 5. 10S – Garrett Smith[8]; 6. 9- Devin Moran[9]; 7. 7-Ricky Weiss[6]; 8. 32 Bobby Pierce[10]; 9. 9Z-Mason Zeigler[19]; 10. 19M- Will Herrington[7]; 11. 11R- Josh Rice[15]; 12. 2S – Stormy Scott[11]; 13. 46- Earl Pearson Jr.[18]; 14. 40B- Kyle Bronson[5]; 15. 18- Shannon Babb[14]; 16. 97- Michael Shelton[12]; 17. 17- Zack Dome[13]; 18. 16- Tyler Browning[23]; 19. 18 C Chase Junghans[17]; 20. 21- Billy Muir Sr.[21]; 21. 23H – Corey Hedgecock[16]; 22. 11K- Austin Kirkpatrick[24]; 23. C9- Steve Casbolt[22]; 24. 57- Zach Mitchell[20]

Leave a Comment